When You Believe

The title of this post is somehow familiar. Yes it is a song title. And you immediately link this song title with Whitney Houston. Bingo! Your answer is correct. Don’t get me wrong. I think Whitney Houston’s songs are all amazing, but this one is mesmerizing. Before, I have no idea of any of her songs except, the famous one, “I Will Always Love You”. As I heard When You Believe, I thought “This duet song is just w.o.w.”. I don’t know, but it stucks in my head since this Sunday. And I’ve been singing it almost every second of my life till I influence my sister to sing “when youuu beliiievee somehoww you willl” part over and over again.

New info for me is that late Whitney Houston sang this song with Mariah Carey. It is co-written by Stephen Schwartz and Babyface. For me both voices are beautiful in their own way. As I clue the fact behind this song up, I also found that this song is originally made for biblical animation “Prince of Egypt” which tells the life and journey of Moses. It is played at the film’s end credit. “When you believe” is describing the ability of achieving miracles, when you reach out to God and believe. It has reached no 15 in Billboard Hot 100, which is amazing. And also peaking on top 5 in several countries. The grand building where the music video takes place was in the Brooklyn Academy of Music performing arts center.

I just want to appreciate and thank anyone who creates and sing this beautiful yet profound piece. It is inspiring, it is delightful to hear, it made you believe that if you believe, then you will. And you will when you believe. Here is the lyrics :

“When You Believe”

Many nights we’ve prayed
With no proof anyone could hear
In our hearts, a hopeful song
We barely understood

Now we are not afraid
Although we know there’s much to fear
We were moving mountains long
Before we knew we could, oh yes

[1] – There can be miracles when you believe
Though hope is frail, it’s hard to kill
Who knows what miracles you can achieve
When you believe, somehow you will
You will when you believe

Oh yeah, in this time of fear
When prayer so often proves in vain
Hope seems like the summer birds
Too swiftly flown away
Yet now I’m standing here
My heart so full I can’t explain
Seeking faith and speaking words
I never thought I’ll say

[Repeat 1]

They don’t always happen when you ask
And it’s easy to give in to your fears
But when you’re blinded by your pain
Can’t see the way, get through the rain
A small but still, resilient voice
Says hope is very near, oh

[Repeat 1]

You will when you
You will when you believe
Just believe
I believe, I believe
Just believe
You will when you believe

[lyrics from :azlyrics.com]
Leave a Reply

